Mission / Vision

             The mission of Khowai District Police is to enforce the law and to bring the attitudinal change for greater police public harmony and thereby achieve greater efficiency in its primary objective of prevention of crime and detection of crime. Police must be compassionate, courteous and patient, acting without fear or favour or prejudice to rights of others. 


          The Tripura state was ruled by Maharaja of hill ‘Tipperah’ almost independently till accession of the state to the Indian Union on the 13th August 1947 by the agreement of merger signed on 9th September 1949 between Maharani Kanchan Prabha Devi on behalf of minor Prince Kirit Bikram and Union of India. Thus the state Tripura became part-“C” State of the Indian Union an administered by the Chief Commissioner. Subsequently, Tripura became a union territory on 1st November 1956 and the first territorial council was formed on 15th August 1959, which was later dissolved to have elected legislative council of ministers in July 1963 and Tripura become a full fledged state in 1972.


Formation of the District. :-

          Khowai district emerged as a new district on 21st January, 2012 when four new districts namely Gomati / Sepahijala /, Unakoti /and Khowai District were created in Tripura, taking the number of districts in the state from four to eight for the convenience of administration.

Geographical Location/ Climatic condition ---

 The city lies on the banks of Khowai river and hence from the river the city gets its name. Located near the Bangladesh border it has boundaries with it on its entire Southern part and has a monsoon influenced humid subtropical climate with large amounts of rain almost all year. The city experiences long, hot and wet summers, lasting from April to October. Average temperatures are around 28 °C (82 °F), fluctuating with rainfall. There is a short, mild winter from mid-November to early March, with mostly dry conditions and average temperatures around 18 °C (64 °F).

Sub-Divisions ---

The district has already a sub-division named "Khowai". All the district regulatory offices start functioning in the district town Khowai. Two sub-division Khowai and Teliamura make New District, its total area being- 13778.28 km2. The length of Border along Khowai is 61.5 km. It is almost fully fenced (only 950 meters pending).

Population ---

          As of 2011 India census, Khowai District had a population of 3,27,564. Males constitute 51.10% of the population and females 48.90%. Khowai District has an average literacy rate of 87.78%, male literacy is 92.17%, and female literacy is 83.17 %. In Khowai, 38,659 population is under 6 years of age. 

Police Stations & Out-Posts ---

The District is divided into two Sub-Divisions viz. Khowai Sub-Division & Teliamura Sub-Division with 05 (five) Police stations and 2 out posts namely ---

1. Khowai PS

2. Champahour PS

3. Kalyanpur PS

4. Teliamura PS   

5. Mungiakami PS.

6. Baijalbari Outpost

7. Subhas Park Outpost