About Us




As of 2012, it is the most populous district of Tripura (out of 8). While Tripura as a whole lies approximately between the north latitude 22 degrees 56' and 24 degrees 32' and between longitude 91 degrees 0' and 92 degrees 20' east, the West Tripura district lies approximately between latitude 23 degrees 16' to 24 degrees 14' north and longitude 91 degrees 09' east to 91 degrees 47' east. The West Tripura District is bounded by Bangladesh in the north and west,  by Khowai district in the east and by Sepahijala district in the south. Total area of the district before 2012 was 3544 sq.km but with effect from 21 January 2012 two more new districts were emerged from the  womb of West Tripura District making a total of 8 districts in the state and hence West Tripura  District ic contracted to 983.63 sq.km. The district headquarters is located at Agartala, which is also the capital of the State.



Before merging with the Union of India, Tripura was a princely State. Bir Bikram Kishore Manikya was the last King of the princely state. After his death in May 1947, a council of regency under the leadership of his widowed wife Maharani Kanchanprabha Devi took over  the charge of administration on behalf of the minor prince Kirit Bikram Kishore Manikya.

Monarchy came to its end on 9th September 1947 when princely state Tripura joined the Union of India. Tripura was taken as a Part-C state administered by Chief Commissioner. Tripura became a Union Territory on 1st November 1956. The Territorial Council was formed on August 15, 1959. The dissolution of Territorial Council and formation of Legislative Assembly and a Council of Ministers in July 1963 were notable events. Finally Tripura became a full-fledged State in January 1972. The district administration was run by one District Magistrate and Collector upto 31.8.1970. For better attention of problems of land and tenancies, for accelerating the pace of development in this backward area especially in the remote Tribal areas and for bringing the people closer to the administration Tripura was divided into three districts, viz., North Tripura District, West Tripura District and South Tripura District. Three district Magistrates and Collectors were appointed for the three districts from 1-9-1970. While it was one District Union Territory there were 10 sub-divisions. When it became a full-fledged State, the 10 sub-divisions remained the same. The West Tripura district comprises of three sub-divisions viz., Khowai, Sadar and Sonamura while North Tripura District comprises of  Kailashhar, Dharmanagar and kamalpur and South Tripura District comprises of remaining Udaipur, Amarpur, Belonia and Sabroom sub-divisions. However, West Tripura District is again divided into three on 21st  January, 2012  viz. West Tripura District, Khowai and Sepahijala District. Presently, West Tripura District comprises of Five Police Sub-Divisions and 16 Police Stations. Out of the six major hill ranges of Tripura, Baramura falls within the district.


Main languages spoken in the district are Bengali, Kokborok and Manipuri. Religion wise breakup of population is indicated below as per 2011 census :

West Tripura Religion-wise Data 2011






87.66 %



8.85 %



3.11 %



0.03 %



0.12 %



0.02 %



0.02 %

Not Stated


0.18 %


Tripura was known as `Hill Tipperah' and the very much nomenclature is suggestive of its hilly nature of undulating surface made uneven by inter- sparsed low hills. A series of hill ranges running north and south divide the territory into broad parallel valleys, consisting of undulating tillas (hillocks) covered with jungle with totuous streane. There are six major hill ranges in the State increasing in height as one moves  from west to east (from the sumit of the ranges one has a striking view of the surroundings, a heaving monetary of evergreen landscape). Out of the six major ranges, Baramura falls within West Tripura.

Baramura range: The portion of the above ranges lies in West Tripura District is the Baramura range which is almost 47 km. having the highest peak Saisum Sib (249 mtrs.)


The following rivers flow within the West Tripura districts :

Howrah : It rises from the Baramura range and its tributaries are Dowaigang, Ghoramara and Debda on the right bank and Charupanadi, Dhobatilachhara and Bangeswargang on the left bank. The length of Howrah river is 53 kms. and it flows towards west and enters into Bangladesh by side of Agartala town, the capital of the State.

Burigang : It rise from Baramura and flows towards west and ultimately enters into Bangladesh.

There are long river valleys extending over a vast area in different sub-divisions formed mostly of deep alluvial deposits with rich fertility excellently suited for the cultivation of paddy jute, oil seeds, spices, fruits and vegetables would be evident from the aforementioned position. The source of all rivers are in Tripura itself. Due to the indiscriminate felling of trees the ecology of Tripur is being affected to a great extent, Human beings and trees belong to the category of living species. There is a gap of feeling which might be attributed to the factors of immediate benefit as the very question of subsistence is involved particularly when the majority of the people in Tripura are below poverty line. Exploitation and not extinction should be the way of life. If that be the case the forest resources which are national wealth should be preserved in such a way that they are exploited and not extinct. Else danger is inherent in expressing their displeasure. The signs of danger, are apparent when we see erosion of soils due to indiscriminate felling of trees. There is uneven rainfall. Water flows merry- go-round. It carries sands which turns into deposits causing heavy damage to fertile lands which are going to be scarce particularly when the population is increasing in geometrical progression.